The Board

Non-Executive Chairman
Appointed 2016
He is Chairman of Thales UK and Chairman of the Defence Advisory Group of DSO. He was formerly Executive Vice President of Thales Group, Chairman of Manoir Aerospace Holdings and a Non-Executive director of UKTI. He was President of the SBAC then ADS created by merging SBAC and DMA. He has an Honorary Doctor of Science Degree from Strathclyde University. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and of the Royal Aeronautical Society. He was made CBE in 2002 and became an Officer de la Legion d’Honneur in 2010 and is a Freeman of the City of London.


Group Chief Executive
Appointed 2000
He joined Marshall Aerospace in 1995 and was appointed a director in 1999 before moving to Marshall SV as Chief Executive in 2000. He has been Chairman of Marshall Land Systems since January 2006 and was appointed Executive Chairman of Marshall Motor Holdings in 2007. He became Group Chief Executive from 1st January 2012 having been Chief Operating Officer since 2010. He is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.


Senior Independent Director
Appointed 2016
She is Chairman of global recruitment company Harvey Nash plc and non-executive director of Ebiquity plc, an AIM listed marketing analytics business, and Chrysalis VCT plc, which is a self managed fund investing in small UK companies. She has been on the board of several companies including Greggs plc, BOC Group plc, Yorkshire Building Society and lottery operator Camelot. Previously she was an executive director of Woolwich plc and the partner in charge of Accenture’s change management practice in Europe.


Non-Executive Director
Appointed 2014
He worked with Bidwells LLP for over 30 years, and was Senior Partner from 2000 to 2010. He was appointed Chairman of Pigeon Investment Management in 2011. Prior to this he was Chairman of the CBI in the East of England from 2003 to 2005, and on the Advisory Board of the Department of Land Economy at Cambridge University from 2003 to 2007. He was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant of Cambridgeshire in 2006, and served as High Sheriff of Cambridgeshire for 2013/14.


Chief Financial Officer
Appointed 2016
He was previously Group Finance Director of WYG plc from 2011 to 2016, Scott Wilson plc from 2007 to 2010 and Yule Catto plc from 1999 until 2007. He is a chartered accountant with more than 25 years’ experience in financial management and business leadership across a number of sectors.


Non-Executive Director
Appointed 2008
He is a former chief executive of Barclays Corporate and Commercial Banking and, latterly, until his retirement in 2008, Vice Chairman of Barclays UK Banking. He is now a non-executive director of Co-operative Banking Group. He is a member of the Chartered Institute of Bankers. Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.


Company Secretary
Appointed 2012
She joined the Group from Ernst & Young in 1997 and became Group Financial Controller in 2000 and Head of Group Insurance in 2002. Sarah was appointed Company Secretary of the Group with effect from the AGM in 2012. She is an independent trustee of the Royal Aeronautical Society and a member of its Finance Committee. She is also a trustee of the Group’s pension schemes.


Non-Executive Director
Appointed 2008
He developed Deltron Electronics Plc into a European-leading manufacturer and distributor of niche components, which he sold during 2006. He is now Chairman of businesses engaged in recruitment, and estate agency. He is a Fellow of the RSA and the Institute of Directors, Companion of the Chartered Management Institute and is a Freeman of the City of London. Chairman of the Audit Committee.


Non-Executive Director
Appointed 2016
He is Chairman of Greene King plc, one of the UK’s leading pub and brewing companies. He is also Chairman of Equiniti Group PLC, and a non-executive director of Aberdeen Asian Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc and Computacenter plc. He is an independent trustee of the Francis Crick Institute. He has spent over fifteen years in private equity, including 3i Group plc where he was Chief Executive from 2004 until 2009, and before that at Investcorp. He is a former Finance Director of Diageo plc, the global drinks group and has recently stepped down as senior independent director of Vodafone plc after 11 years on the board.